On the walls

by

Through some sort of internet wormhole, I discovered that the “Most Vital Artists” issue of Spin from 1997 is online in its entirety. (If only the Girl Issue from that year were available, too… sigh.) As an angsty teen, I tore out like every single page in this issue and hung them all up in my bedroom.

Deep.

Seriously, I thought Courtney in this picture was the pinnacle of fashion. So inspirational.

Beckboner.

Navigator Man! My bff and I were obsessed with this ad– we were convinced he looked like Jordan Catalano. (wha?)

cockerboner. (favorite new word??)

Soooo much more…

So now you pretty much know what it was like to be grounded with me at age 15. Just add candles and cardigans and a big pair of headphones. wow.

3 Responses to “On the walls”

  1. corazones rojos Says:

    This is too much for me to handle.
    After seeing that photo of Tricky, it reminded me of when he was on “Girlfriends.” I have to go find those episodes.

  2. jessie Says:

    what does it mean if your description of your 15 year old self mirrors my description of the 26 year old me?

  3. laia Says:

    yeah, this is still me.
    also, i still have my copy of the girl issue!

Leave a Reply

